Webcast: Uncertainty, Transparency and Robustness in Socio-Environmental Systems Modeling and Assessments

WEBCAST: Uncertainty, Transparency and Robustness in Socio-Environmental Systems Modeling and Assessments

Join TIAS, the Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC) and the journal Socio-Environmental Systems Modeling Understanding for a live webcast this spring,
 Uncertainty, Transparency and Robustness in Socio-Environmental Systems Modeling and Assessments
The webcast will take place on:
Weds. 28 April 2021:   In Mexico City 14:00 – 15:30 (UTC-5), New York: 15:00 – 16:30 EDT (UTC -4), Amsterdam: 21:00 – 22.30 CEST (UTC +2)/ Nairobi: 22:00 – 23.:30 EAT (UTC+3)
(In Sydney: 29 April at 05:00 – 06:30 AEST (UTC+10))

This is the second in a series of webcasts based on the 2020 article, “Eight grand challenges in socio-environmental systems modeling,” by Sondoss El Sawah and colleagues. While the first webcast explored current challenges and the future of SES modeling more generally, this webcast addresses models and the environmental and development-related assessments that rely on them, in terms of uncertainty issues, transparency (including trust, bias and world views), and robustness of the conclusions.

The webcast is intended for practitioners and scholars who commission, sponsor or use SES models. It will begin with an introduction by Jan Bakkes, briefly describing the challenges. Each of the panelists will then provide comments or responses, followed by an open discussion. Viewers may post questions and comments.

Full Announcement and Registration. Deadline: 27 April